Author: Magda Danysz, 300 pages (first edition) 11 x 12 1/4 inches (28 x 31 cm)

Futura

Futura 2000: Full Frame,2019

Textes anglais / English texts

Drago publishing

Author: Magda Danysz, 300 pages (first edition)

11 x 12 1/4 inches (28 x 31 cm)


74 $
Information request

Description

OFFICIAL RELEASE: 2019
PRE-ORDER YOURS FOR A SHIPPING FROM DECEMBER 22,2018
(unsigned copies)

''Futura: Full Frame'' is a book by Magda Danysz exploring the life of legendary graffiti artist Futura, aka Lenny Mc Gurr, from the 1980s until today, including backstage images of the artist at work through the decades and his artworks.

Provenance

Forword ''Graffiti writing as  painting: the world  of futura 2000'' by Vittorio Parisi (doctor of aesthetics at Pantheon-Sorbonne University  and independent curator)

''I guess I must admire the need to set things on fire'': this quote, lifted from Futura's collaboration with punk band The Clash, clearly illustrates his approach to his creative career as a whole. The so-called father of abstract graffiti started out in the 1970s''bombing'' the trains of his hometown New York. He later transferred this style into paintings on canvas and was praised by the likes of Keith Haring and Jean-Michel Basquiat. With them, FUTURA has been a major influencer of youth culture through his collaborations with iconic brands like NIKE, Levi's, Vans, Hennessey, Medicom Toys as well as with his own brand Futura Laboratories.  For the past 40 years, he has continually been pushing the boundaries of street art.


Futura 2000

 

This book is the first ever to bring together the fruits of his extraordinary creativity in one place. With a rich collection of photographs, this coffee table book will present Futura's work from his early beginnings to his current work, making it of interest not just for fans of his work but also for book lovers looking for a high-quality item.

''As an abstract graffiti artist, Futura opened the door to a new form of creativity, paving the road for the most important art movement of the century to blossom. His contribution and the way he inspired then generations of street artists turned him into an American legend.'' - Madga Danysz.

''Futura was one of those artists - and they were very, very rare - who had the original style to evolve beyond graffiti.'' -  Charlie Ahearn

Auteur: Magda Danysz, 300 pages (première edition) 28 x 31 cm

Futura

Futura 2000: Full Frame,2019

Textes anglais / English texts

Drago publishing

Auteur: Magda Danysz, 300 pages (première edition)

28 x 31 cm


74 $
Demande d'informations

Description

SORTIE OFFICIELLE EN LIBRAIRIE 2019
PRECOMMANDE : LIVRE DISPONIBLE A L'ENVOI A PARTIR DU 22 DECEMBRE
(exemplaire non signé)

''Futura: Full Frame'' par Magda Danysz est un livre qui explore la vie de l'artiste légendaire Futura, alias Lenny Mc Gurr, des années 1980 à nos jours, comprenant des photographies en coulisse de l'artiste au travail et de nombreuses de ses oeuvres.

Provenance

Préface ''Graffiti writing as  painting: the world  of futura 2000'' de Vittorio Parisi (Docteur en ésthetique - Pantheon-Sorbonne et commissaire indépendant)

 

"Je suppose que je dois admirer la nécessité de mettre le feu aux choses": cette citation, issue de la collaboration de Futura avec le groupe punk The Clash, illustre sa démarche créative. En tant que pionnier du graffiti abstrait, Futura a débuté dans les années 1970 en bombant les trains de sa ville natale de New York. Il a ensuite rapidement transféré ce style sur toile et remarqué par ceux qui deviendront ses compagnons de route, entre autres, Keith Haring et Jean-Michel Basquiat. Futura a exercé une influence déterminante sur la culture urbaine tant par son art que grâce à ses collaborations avec des marques emblématiques telles que NIKE, Levi's, Vans, Hennessey, Medicom Toys ainsi qu'avec sa propre marque, Futura Laboratories. Au cours des 40 dernières années, il n'a cessé de repousser les limites du street art.

 

Futura 2000

 

Ce livre est le premier à réunir en un seul lieu les fruits de son extraordinaire créativité. Avec une riche collection de photographies, ce livre présente l'oeuvre de Futura, de ses débuts à son travail plus actuel, et s'adresse non seulement aux nombreux fans de son travail, mais également aux amateurs de beaux livres à la recherche d'ouvrages de qualité.

 

"En tant que graffeur abstrait, Futura a pavé la voie à une nouvelle forme de créativité, ouvrant la voie à l'éclosion du plus important mouvement artistique du siècle. Sa contribution et la manière dont il a inspiré des générations d'artistes urbain font de lui une légende. " - Madga Danysz

 

"Futura est un de ces artistes - et ils étaient très rares - qui avaient un style original lui permettant d'évoluer au-delà du graffiti." - Charlie Ahearn